Posted in Book review

Book Review: Mer

Mer

Mer by Joelle Sellner

Genres/Themes: Mer(men/maids), Fantasy, Comic, Young Adult, Bullying, Death

*I received this book through Netgalley, but all thoughts and opinions are my own*

★★✯☆☆ 2.5 stars, but honestly closer to 2.Synopsis from Goodreads: 

After the death of her beloved mother, Aryn’s father has moved her family to a new town hoping for a fresh start. At first things seem to be going well—Aryn is making friends and has even caught the eye of one of the hottest guys in school. But there are dark forces moving under the surface that Aryn cannot see; and her new crush may not be … human.


There is absolutely so much to like about this. The artwork isn’t bad, it has mer(men/maids), it has lore, it deals with bullying (albeit badly), death, and crappy parents. There is a lot going on here…. too much for how short it is.

Honestly, it really feels things were missing or moved at the speed of lightning. Hate –> Love, Friends/MISUNDERSTANDING!!!!! to omg I hate you in like one page. I just ????

I still don’t understand what the bad person is and why they need Mer hearts to live. I also don’t forgive people as fast as MC. And the ending…. so much confusion tbh.

I wanted this to be SO MUCH MORE. If it was double in size, I think it wouldn’t be so bad and perhaps we’d have time to connect with all the characters. There was also SO MUCH to be explored by looking at our culture from another lens and allowing the reader to be ‘huh’, but the author let the opportunity wash by them.

So much potential… 😦

In the end, I think it is worth it to read, maybe not buy, just to see how interesting the mers are and their thing. Other than that, I don’t know if I’d rec this to anyone…. it is just way too fast.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Mer

    1. I was so excited!! It was rather unfortunate…. so I picked up the latest Kate Daniels book from the library to keep me from going into a book slump haha too many ‘meh’ books in a row will do that to me :/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment