Posted in Book review

Book Review: The Forest of Hands and Teeth

The Forest of Hands and Teeth (The Forest of Hands and Teeth, #1)Mary knows there has to be something beyond the village’s surrounding fence; her mother’s stories about the ocean must be true, and Mary is determined to find it and leave the village forever.

Title: The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Author: Carrie Ryan
ISBN: 0385736827 (ISBN13: 9780385736824)

Genre: Sci-Fi ->Dystopia, Horror, Fantasy ->Zombies
Series: Yes; Can read as a standalone
Reading Level/Interest Level: 9th grade+ according to SLJ

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
First Publication Date: May 10th, 2009
Available Formats on Amazon: e-book, paperback, library binding, audiobook, audio CD

★★✯☆☆ Continue reading “Book Review: The Forest of Hands and Teeth”

Advertisements
Posted in Book review

Book Review: One of Us is Lying

One of Us Is Lying A nerd, a jock, a drug dealer, a beauty, and school gossip app admin are in detention.
One of them dies…
One them is a killer…

Author: Karen M. McManus
ASIN: B01M98J44U

Genre: Contemporary, Mystery/Thriller, YA
Series: No
Reading Level/Interest Level: 9th grade +

Publisher: Delacorte Press
First Publication Date: May 30th, 2017

★★★★★ Continue reading “Book Review: One of Us is Lying”

Posted in Book review

Book Review: The Language of Thorns

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo

Title: The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic
Author: Leigh Bardugo
ISBN: 125012252X (ISBN13: 9781250122520)

Genre: Fantasy, Fairy tale re-tellings, Romance, Short Stories, Young Adult
Series: No (although the fairy tales ‘come from’ part of the Grisha/Six of Crows world, so it is interesting that way)

★★★★★★★★★★

All the stars for this awesome book.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Language of Thorns”

Posted in Book review

Book Review: The Stepford Wives

The Stepford WivesThere is something wrong with the women in Stepford, Bobbie & Joanna don’t know the cause, but can they escape before they change too? 

Title: The Stepford Wives
Author: Ira Levin

Genre: Thriller, Horror
Series? No

Publisher: Perennial
First Publication Date:  September 1972

Review:

This book made my skin crawl.

I was skeptical when I started it because it is quite a short book, but this author knows how to pack the book with everything it needs to tell the story correctly and grip the reader. Since I already had an idea of the town’s secret (it can’t be called spoiling if the book is over 30 years old) I was not too shocked by all the turns of events, even more so when I read the forward of the book, but there were still many things to made my jaw drop. I will confess to wandering around my home in thought for over 10 minutes, just thinking about what I had read.

Even though the book is over 40 years old, I feel the content is still relevant to the problems of today. While reading the book, I did not know how old the book was (although Women’s Liberation Movement should have clued me in), but it still felt modern and probable in our day, especially since there are female robots in Japan.

My one criticism for the book is the formatting of it, and I’m not even sure if it is just an e-book thing or if it is the same in the physical copies. I would have liked a more substantial break between scene or day changes because one paragraph takes place during at night and the next might paragraph might be Joanna talking to Bobbie at a cafe! It could be jarring at times. I’m not asking for more chapters, but an extra space or a line between paragraphs taking place in different scenes would be helpful.

Readalikes: 

Invasion of the Body SnatchersThe AssociationWomanThe Victorian Chaise Longue

  • Invasion of the Body Snatchers by Jack Finney
    Atmospheric and fast-paced, this book also contains humans being replaced.
  • The Association by Bentley Little
    These books both take place in normal or ideal suburbs only to not be, and horror is derived from the need to conform or be punished.
  • Woman by Richard Matheson
    Another fast-paced horror novel also revolving around gender roles.
  • The Victorian Chaise Longue by Marghanita Laski
    A short paged horror novel dealing with gender roles where the main character experiences doubt and feeling trapped.