Posted in Try a Chapter Challenge

Try a Chapter Challenge – 2019 Anticipated Reads Edition

Hello friends!

I’ve been seeing this challenge around and been thinking it looked fun, but I haven’t been in a good place to really try it out. Now I’m slowing down on my reading and taking more breaks (yay!) I have more time to blog. I’ve noticed that while I’m super excited to read some books I push them off because a. I’m worried it won’t live up to the hype (internal or external) or b. I’m waiting for the “right” mindset/emotional headspace to read it… aka I’m worried about the self-hype and waiting until I forget it.

Therefore, this challenge which forces you to try books out is exactly what I need!

A quick recap of what this challenge is… the Try a Chapter Challenge is one that started on Youtube (I believe) where the person reads the first chapter of five different books and chooses one of those books to read ASAP, based on the results. Some people also use this challenge to unhaul books as well.

Sometimes I just need a kick in the pants — I start reading and I’m good, it’s the build up and waiting that make it worse, I just need to get myself started! So, I’m hoping by giving myself a taste of these books I’ll be more willing to read them sooner. Of course, I’m also allowing myself to remove books from my TBR if after one chapter I realize I’m so not into them.

Phew~ That’s a lot of information! Hopefully I can do this challenge once or twice a month– I’m thinking I’ll do it every time I finish the book I pick.

Last Post…

The Brilliant Death (The Brilliant Death, #1)

Last post I picked The Brilliant Death by Amy Rose Capetta. It ended up as a DNF after 33% 😢. Such a bummer. I have yet to pick up the runner up The Ruin of Kings just because of the size of it. Perhaps, I’ll fit it in before the end of the year… that’s the goal anyway.

This Week!

I’m picking books from my Anticipated Reads posts Jan-July and my 2019 Anticipated Reads post– which surprisingly don’t always match up!

Here is the list of the oldest 5 I didn’t get to!

1.The Wicked King by Holly Black (Pub. date: Jan. 8th)
While the oldest from my posts, I want to re-read The Cruel Prince before this one, sooo it won’t work for this challenge.

1.King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo (Pub. date: Jan. 29th)

2. Queen’s Shadow by E.K. Johnston (Pub. date: March 5th)
I’m unfortunately not interested in reading this one anymore, so this is actually being removed from my TBR. Perhaps one day I’ll read a Star Wars book– but not today.

2.Sherwood by Meagan Spooner (Pub. date: March 19th)

3.Aladdin: Far From Agrabah by Alisha Saeed (Pub. date: Apr. 2nd)

4.Aurora Rising by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman (Pub. Date: May 7th)

5.We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal (Pub. date: May 14th)

Do you see all these awesome books I’m missing out on?? Although, I’m pleasantly surprised that we got all the way to May here — I thought they would only be from January and February!

I don’t know about you, but I’m thinking this week’s choice is going to be very difficult. 

0db48f8f

King of Scars (Nikolai Duology, #1)King of Scars

Thoughts before reading: This is the first and only book I have ever pre-ordered. Leigh Bardugo writes for my soul. And yet, with all my excitement (or because of it) I still haven’t read it! I’m 99.99% sure I’ll love this one… but there is that part of me going “what if I don’t?” This might also explain why I haven’t read The Ninth House — but that’s a book for another time. 

Thoughts after reading: Wait, what, wait… WHAT?! Oh that cliffhanger… okay, so this is a book I know I’ll fall into. But, I’m feeling distracted, so I’m not sure if I will do this book justice reading it right now. NIKOLAI!! Ugh, I love him so much… 


SherwoodSherwood

Thoughts before reading: Robin Hood is one of my favorite stories and after reading Hunted, I’m excited to see what Meagan Spooner does with this tale. 

 

Thoughts after reading: I’m feeling so many emotions!! This feels like a really great start to a book. It was hard not to continue on reading. I will admit that I’m worried by all the negative reviews… 


Aladdin: Far from Agrabah Aladdin: Far From Agrabah

Thoughts before reading: Truthfully, this one is actually an ARC. Aladdin is one of my favorite Disney movies– was my favorite as a kid before Mulan came out. Yes, I totally want to read this one. I tend to procrastinate even more with Middle Grade novels… 

Thoughts after reading: Oh, that wasn’t great. I’m feeling pretty letdown right now. I liked the prologue, but then it picks up a few days after they’ve met– I think if you hadn’t seen the movie, you wouldn’t understand the book too well. Considering I haven’t seen the animated movie since I was a child, I’m straining here to remember their first meeting. If this wasn’t an ARC I’d probably remove it from my TBR, but as it is I’ll push through a bit more. 


Aurora Rising (The Aurora Cycle, #1)Aurora Rising

Thoughts before reading: I adored this pairs’ The Illuminae Files series– like, I need to buy those books eventually and I recommend them to everyone. I’ve also seen the cover of the next book in this series and I love it! While I think I’ll like it, sci-fi and I don’t always get along and I’m so, so nervous I’ll end up disliking this one. This is also an ARC for me… 

Thoughts after reading: I’m already halfway in love with Tyler’s character and his dimples. I’m so excited to meet Auri and while some of the sci-fi/space lingo is above me, I’m not confused or feeling out of place. This is gonna be great. 


We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya, #1)We Hunt the Flame

Thoughts before reading: I don’t actually remember what this book is about. I had to re-read the synopsis. It sounds pretty good and it has that gorgeous cover. Let’s see what I think… 

Thoughts after reading: Ooooooooo okay this is dark and enticing. I’m loving the atmosphere here and I’m a sucker for girls pretending to be guys to survive. I’m HERE for this trope. 


Final things to consider…. 

  • Sherwood has so, so many bad reviews from my GR friends. Ones I usually agree with. I read some more reviews and think I know some of what is to come and… I’d rather not put myself through that so I’m removing this one from my TBR. 
  • We Hunt the Flame is not available at the library yet– I’ve got a hold on it and I should get it in 3 weeks. I want to pick something that I can read ASAP. 
  • Aladdin: Far From Agrabah I’m tempted to pick, just so I can quickly DNF it and get it off my TBR, but that IS NOT THE POINT OF THIS CHALLENGE. Come on, Sionna, get it together!! So, while I might continue this one soon, I’m not going to name it the winner of this challenge. 

And the Winner is…

Aurora Rising

I picked this one over King of Scars because I have an ARC of it and I feel guilty about my backlog of ARCs. I’m sure King of Scars will be one I pick up soon though! 

Leave a comment