Posted in TBR Highs & Lows

TBR Lows & Highs #49

It’s late, but I skipped last week and didn’t want to skip another. So, let’s get to looking at my TBR. 

Rules:

  • Link back to the original post at Howling Libraries
  • Sort your Goodreads TBR shelf by date added, ascending
  • Find 5-10 (or more, if you feel ambitious!) titles to purge from your TBR (the “lows”)
    • ALTERNATIVE OPTION: Find 5+ titles that are at the BOTTOM of your TBR—books you want to read someday, just not right now!
  • Post those 5 books in the list, with a brief explanation
  • Next, sort your Goodreads TBR shelf by date added, descending
  • List the last 5 (or more!) books you added to your TBR, with a synopsis or your brief summary of why you added it (the “highs”)

✘✘✘ The Lows ✘✘✘

The Perks of Being a WallflowerSabriel (Abhorsen,  #1)Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, #1)The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus, #1)Before I Fall

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Honestly, I’ve never really wanted to read this one, I just added it to my TBR because I thought I should one day read it. I still feel this way, but I know I might never actually get to it. 
✅ Sabriel by Garth Nix
I know, I know: how have I not read this one yet??? I’ve been recommend it left and right. I will get to it one day, I swear.
✅ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs 
Another one I really want to try, but haven’t gotten around to yet and still I keep telling myself “soon”… 
✅ The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud
This was a hard decision. I’m on the fence about wanting to read it, but since it is at my library, I’m going to keep it for now. 
❌ Before the Fall by Lauren Oliver 
I’m not interested in this one, it is another one I felt I should read because of how popular it is. 

 The Highs 

Remember it has been two weeks since I’ve shared my new additions, so while there are quite a few here it isn’t a terrible amount. 

Number the StarsA Study in Seduction (Moriarty's Men #1)Phoenix (The Stardust Series, #1)Songs from the DeepRogue Princess

  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
    Currently sitting on my nightstand because youths at work recommended it to me. 
  • A Study in Seduction by Eva Chase
    I’m going to join this group read. 
  • Phoenix by Autumn Reed & Julia Clarke
    I’ve heard this one is really good. 
  • Songs from the Deep by Kelly Powell
    YA historical fiction with Sirens being blamed for a string of murders. 
  • Rogue Princess by B.R. Myers 
    I picked this one up from Netgalley. It was toted as a sci-fi reverse Cinderella. I’m totally down to see how this goes. 

Black Canary: IgniteHarley Quinn: Breaking GlassTeen Titans: Beast BoyLove Her or Lose Her (Hot & Hammered, #2)The Accidental Girlfriend

  • Black Canary: Ignite by Meg Cabot
  • Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass by Mariko Tamaki
    I heard about these ones at the ALA Annual Conference, so I requested them from Netgalley. I’m so excited to read them. 
  • Teen Titans: Beast Boy by Kami Garcia
    I liked Raven’s story. Beast Boy is my other favorite, so I’m glad his story is coming out next!
  • Love Her or Lose Her by Tessa Bailey
    LOVED Fix Her Up and the whole time I was hoping we’d get a book about this couple. I was not let down!! Can’t wait for this one to come out. 
  • The Accidental Girlfriend by Emma Hart 

Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead (Claire DeWitt Mysteries, #1)TBA: Bluewater BillionairesRuthless Gods (Something Dark and Holy, #2)The Vanishing (Fogg Lake #1)The Music of What Happens

This Earl of Mine (Bow Street Bachelors #1)Bayou Born (Foundling #1)The Circus RoseThe Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library, #1)Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

  • This Earl of Mine by Kate Bateman
    I’m a sucker for interesting sounding Regency romances. 
  • Bayou Born by Hailey Edwards 
    I have practically a whole GR group recommending this book to me haha. 
  • The Circus Rose by Betsy Cornwell
    A queer YA retelling of Snow White and Briar Rose for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Laini Taylor, and Mackenzi Lee???? Yeah, sign me up. 
  • The Library of the Unwritten by A.J. Hackwith
    I have a hard time passing up books featuring librarians and books. 
  • Good Omens by Terry Prachett & Neil Gaiman
    UGH, I need to watch this show, read this book, and read more books by these authors! 

TBR Total: 808 — 9 up from two weeks ago.

See???? I added quite a bit, but truly it isn’t that bad…

What book have you added to your TBR recently
that you are excited to read?

One thought on “TBR Lows & Highs #49

  1. You’re definitely not missing anything by skipping Before I Fall, I don’t think! As far as Perks goes, it meant a lot to me as a kid but if I read it for the first time as an adult, I don’t think it would go far with me, so I don’t blame you. 🤷‍♀️

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s