Posted in Book review

Book Review: The Myths of Mish

Myths of Mish by Katie Hamstead

Myths of Mish (Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #2) by Katie Hamstead

Genres/Themes: YA/NA, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Romance, Fairytale Re-telling

★★★☆☆

*I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

Hansel and Gretel Herrscher survived the witch in the woods, but the experience has made Hansel paranoid for the past ten years. He sees dark magic at every turn. When Gretel has a marriage arranged to a much older man, and Hansel discovers he’s about to be sent halfway across the galaxy, he knows something sinister is afoot. 

Wilhelmine Nordon has plenty of experience with Hansel’s quirkier side. So when she catches him and Gretel running away in the middle of the night, she follows to keep them from getting killed. The siblings have never left the capital of Mish on their own, so they need a babysitter. Except when she’s discovered, Hansel gives her his usual cold shoulder, and Gretel secretly begs her to take them back. 

The problem is, Hansel’s paranoia may turn out to be well founded, and they’re all being hunted.


I just cannot get over how interesting this world is. I remember being absolutely blown away in the first book. In this one…. not so much. I honestly just needed more details to understand what everything looked and felt like. Because of the first book I assumed when they got into their ship that they would be going <i>into space</i> yet then there was talking about an ocean and…. I will admit to being more confused while reading this book.

I really loved the personalities of the characters in this book (Except Hansel who is a big jerk). Minna was awesome and pretty kickass, while Gretel had her moments of cuteness (Even though she acted more 14 than 17). I even liked Rune and Stein who barely had any time! Hansel… he seemed quite irredeemable to me– I just don’t accept his reasoning or the way anyone could have put up with him talking to them the way he did! He went from being a 21 y/o to a 15y/o I SWEAR!! So, maturity was pretty low in this…

I also didn’t really understand the purpose of the adventure. “I’m going to Mythos!!” Cool….why? Seriously, why did he want to? Originally…

Okay, so there is still even more I did not quite understand, but I feel like I am more forgiving because of the first book I thoroughly enjoyed and the atmosphere of the book. If the book was like double the length I think I may have totally been in love with it. It just needed those added details, clarification on motives, and maybe slow down the adventure so there are down times the crew could talk and not be in danger of dying. (That poor abused ship).

I’m looking forward to the third installment!!

Leave a Reply

