Posted in Book review

Book Review: Sugar & Gold

Sugar & Gold by Emma   Scott

Sugar & Gold (Dreamcatcher #2) by Emma Scott

Genres/Themes: New Adult, Romance, Magical Realism, Contemporary, Abuse, Suicide

★★★★

*I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

You can totally read this one without reading the first book and understand everything! This is a standalone.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Nikolai Alexei Young was born with a special gift…one he’d do anything to lose. The heart and soul of every person he comes into contact with is an open book to his heightened senses. Colorful emotions, whispers of thoughts, the sour tastes of old memories…He feels them all. For Nikolai, his ability has made him an exile. He roams the U.S. alone, avoiding the glut of life in big cities, and using his innate talents to win money in underground poker games. Just enough to keep going, one town to the next. He has no hope that his life can be anything else, until he meets her…

At nineteen, Fiona Starling was trapped in an ugly, desperate situation until she freed herself the only way she knew how. Now three years later, living outside Savannah, Georgia, she is rebuilding her life on her own terms; seizing every moment and saving every penny so that she might fulfill her dream of moving to the raw wilderness of Costa Rica. But behind her carefree smile beats the heart of a lonely young woman haunted by her past, until a chance encounter with a tattooed stranger changes everything…

Fiona takes Nikolai under her roof for three sultry nights, waiting out the rain of a summer storm. She grows more and more fascinated by this brooding stranger with whom she shares an intense physical connection—a connection so strong, she wonders if there is something between them beyond lust and passion. Nikolai is shocked to discover that Fiona calms the raging turmoil in his heart. She alone silences the din of other people’s lives, and envelops him in the sweet beauty of her inner self. Every moment he’s with her—every touch of her skin—brings him closer to the peace that’s been eluding him his entire life.

But Fiona harbors secrets that she is too terrified to reveal. And most people don’t believe in Nikolai’s abilities, outcasting him more and making him too afraid to confess them to Fiona. When the unthinkable happens, Fiona’s plans come crashing down, and Nikolai discovers his hated ability might be the only thing that can save the woman he loves.


I went into this book a little apprehensive about what I might find:

  1. because it is the second in a series and I haven’t read the first
  2. I haven’t been super lucky with my New Adult Netgalley approvals

Honestly though, I got so much more than I bargained for.

This book is written really well. This isn’t something I generally feel the need to point out, but in this case, I will because I became so wrapped up in this book– in the characters that I didn’t realize how fast I was reading it! I really came to love the characters, not just the main characters but the side characters with their quirks as well.
I also enjoyed the romance here as well (shocking!) It did not feel like a love a first sight because it really did lust at first sight and then they slowly (maybe a little quickly) got to know each other. I enjoyed the path they took, I guess.

My love for the book doesn’t mean there weren’t problems though 😦

  • I still don’t understand Nik’s magic. I get that he doesn’t understand, so we won’t understand, but he says he can’t read minds, yet sometimes does…. and memories??? I do wish it was just seeing emotions OR everything but have it explained.
  • Certain things that happen in the book also didn’t make too much sense to me. I don’t want to write them out and spoil them, so let’s put this down to me being confused in parts and not understanding why they were included in the book–or not liking the sections as much because the book seemed to change.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I plan on going back and reading the first ^_^
If you like New Adult romance WITHOUT love triangles and silly drama, and with a hint of magic and whimsy, then you should totally check this out!

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Sugar & Gold

      1. lol, yeah I feel some of them are just. So. Bad.
        Then again, I usually need more than romance to get me to like a book and it seems NA is synonymous with romance *sigh* I just wanna read more books dealing with people in their 20s who don’t have their shit together haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

