Posted in Book review

Book Review: Royal Bastards

Royal Bastards

Royal Bastards by Andrew Shvarts

Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Adventure, Young Adult, Magic

★★★★★

Wow… I hyped this book for myself, and it did not disappoint.

Synopsis:

Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father, Lord Kent of the Western Province, loved her as a child, but cast her aside as soon as he had trueborn children.
At sixteen, Tilla spends her days exploring long-forgotten tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half brother, Jax, and her nights drinking with the servants, passing out on Jax’s floor while her castle bedroom collects dust. Tilla secretly longs to sit by her father’s side, enjoying feasts with the rest of the family. Instead, she sits with the other bastards, like Miles of House Hampstedt, an awkward scholar who’s been in love with Tilla since they were children.
Then, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the royal shocks everyone by choosing to sit at the Bastards’ Table. Before she knows it, Tilla is leading the sheltered princess on a late-night escapade. Along with Jax, Miles, and fellow bastard Zell, a Zitochi warrior from the north, they stumble upon a crime they were never meant to witness.
The bastards band together, realizing they alone have the power to prevent a civil war that will tear their kingdom apart-if they can warn the king in time. And if they can survive the journey . . .

I took a break before writing this review, but I am still so sad by things that happened, but happy at other things. My heart was crushed- utterly crushed, but also given hope.
I’m letting my feelings get the better of me, let me actually talk about why I liked this book.

Tilla! She isn’t perfect, she isn’t the kindest, or the most morally correct, but she is downright human. The other characters: Zell, Miles, JAX MY FAVORITE!, and Lyriana all had strengths and weaknesses and I enjoyed them all…. I probably could have used some more Lyriana and Tilla moments, but there were a lot of characters and a need to grow other relationships first, I get it. I also suspect, there might be more to Tilla?? Maybe?? More growth?? I also want Lyriana to become BAMF and…and find so much happiness.
Can I also say I think it is awesome how we have a kickass female character (Tilla), who wants to wear dresses and be a noble lady? Like, yeah that is totally okay! And she still doesn’t mind getting down and dirty in order to save herself, her sibling, and companions.

Plot: They are on the run…for the whole book. Yeah, it seems boring, but I’m sitting here writing this thinking “Really? Just trying to get from point A to point B? That’s all I read?” I’m honestly confused by the thought, because so much happens! An escape turns into an adventure that will change them all. I swear I’m not crying again

The banter in this book fueled MY LIFE I have no quotes for you, but Jax and Tilla were fabulous as siblings. Jax and literally anyone was absolutely great. One moment I’m laughing, the next I’m yelling at them to run, hide, fight, DEAR GOD DON’T DIE!! and occasionally shedding tears.

I feel a book slump coming on and all I know is I NEED THE SEQUEL!
I NEED REVENGE! I NEED MORE EVEN IF READING IT WILL HURT ME!

^_^
I recommend this to people who like fantasy and adventure with hints of ‘whAT?!’ haha because I feel like that is what this book is to me. I’m so mad, so sad, but I can’t stop myself from loving this book.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Royal Bastards

  1. Great review! I just finished this today and MY HEART. I can’t even form a review yet because I am so sad but also so delighted because I didn’t know what to expect from this book at all and it was pure amazingness from cover to cover. ❤ I'm going to make LITERALLY EVERYONE read this lmao.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

