Posted in T5W

T5W: Books For Your Hogwarts House

This week’s topic: Books For Your Hogwarts House
–Show your Hogwarts House Pride, and tell us the top 5 books that represent your house!

This is difficult… When I first did the Pottermore quiz, I ended up in Slytherin. Kinda made sense? I guess? I did not go on for a long time, so my account was deleted, but I wanted to find out my patronus or something, so I took the quiz again… only to get into Gryffindor. Not a bad thing, but totally not me. So, I did it again and again only to get every house UGH! I got Ravenclaw twice though before getting another one twice, so that is my house… but I still feel a huge connection to Slytherin. 

I’m still trying to get used to my house being Ravenclaw (which I’ve been told makes more sense for me), so please, take the below books with a grain of salt ^_^
Also, these books are more of books I’d recommend to people in Ravenclaw instead of which represent the house.


The Passion of Dolssa

The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

Truly an amazing historical fiction novel. I absolutely loved this one. Why Ravenclaw? Because it does give some history one can learn, Besides the history though, there is much to learn from this book. 

Scythe (Arc of a Scythe, #1)

Scythe (Arc of the Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman

Okay, yes, this might pass off as a Slytherin book too because of how the characters are, but I think the time and dedication Citra put in to what she does in order to learn how to be a scythe and about her former teacher show she would be in Ravenclaw. 

Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Another possible Slytherin book this time because the characters would definitely fit in there. I picked this book for Ravenclaw because it is a damn good mystery. I think those in Ravenclaw would love mysteries to put their knowledge to the test — see if they can guess the villain and the motive. 

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong

I picked this one because one of Ravenclaw’s traits is Creativity. I think that gives those in the house a love for different and new ideas. This is definitely different and new.
It also brings up Sci-Fi aspects that really aren’t too far away from where we are now, which might get them thinking 😉

Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)

Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews

Sure, Kate could totally go into Gryffindor, but with her intelligence, street smarts, memory, and how she presents herself as an individual, I think she could also be a Ravenclaw, or be a Ravenclaw role model lol. She reminds me a bit of Hermione, who I feel could have gone either Gryffindor or Ravenclaw. 
I also think the mythology thrown around in the book would be interesting to those in the house, give them another resource to use for learning (haha) and show just how useful their learning can be in a non-academic way. 


And because I can’t help myself, a few books I’d pick for Slytherin. 

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress, #1)NimonaTrickster's Choice (Daughter of the Lioness, #1)A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)


 

What do you think of my choices? What books would you recommend to your housemates or other houses?
Comment below and let me know~ ^_^

12 thoughts on “T5W: Books For Your Hogwarts House

    1. It totally can be haha my list is all over the place. It is a series with the sequel coming out next year and a movie in the works!
      But, even if read with no intentions of reading the rest of the series, it still reads so well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought the narrators did a good job sounding the part as well as putting emotion into the book. Also, there were many words I wouldn’t have known how to pronounce, so the audio was nice 🙂 And the author even talks at the end when explaining her research and why she decided to write the book– it is written too, but it was cool to hear her voice as well.
        Besides audio-wise, the book is gripping even with the lack of action and you can see how women had power back when they couldn’t actually have power…if that makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. OHhhhh!! I’m so glad other people are reading those books. I absolutely fell in love with them.
      I heard about them on the Is It Teen Enough For You Now? podcast, so if you read them and wanna hear what librarians have to say about them, you should totally check it out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

