Posted in Book review

Book Review: Burn For Me

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Burn For Me (Hidden Legacy #1) by Ilona Andrews

Genres/Themes: UF/PNR, Magic, Romance

★★★★★

I am going to buy this book.

Synopsis from Goodreads

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.


 

I don’t know what I was expecting… I went in worried this book wouldn’t match the hype, but must have forgotten it was written by Ilona Andrews, because they never disappoint. HOLY MOLY!

I still don’t know what to say– how do I explain what I liked about this book…

Well… I guess we can start with the magic system, I’m still kinda confused how it works, but it is very different from much that I’ve read before. The world is different and new, yet still what we know.

As always, I appreciate the slow romance build up. Are they attracted to one another? Totally, but Nevada sticks to her guns. She knows what she is looking for in her next partner and Rogan is not what she wants… for now 😉

Mad Rogan is an awesome character. Cool powers, intelligent, with his own quirks. He is not just some other muscle-head who is loyal and entranced by the MC, he has more personality and I really enjoyed it.

The plot flowed well and the writing is as amazing as ever. I really didn’t want the book to end. I was happy for hours knowing I had so much left of the book to read only to be surprised when the end proved to be near.
I really wish I had the next book in my hands, but I will have to wait for it 😦

If you like fantasy in a real world setting with badass magic users, hilarious grandmas, and strong heroines, you should give this book a try.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Burn For Me

Leave a Reply

