Posted in Book review

Book Review: Dragon Bones (Hurog #1)

Dragon Bones by Patricia Briggs

Dragon Bones (Hurog #1) by Patricia Briggs

Genres/Themes: High Fantasy, Magic, Dragons

★★★☆☆

So… I really don’t know how I feel about this book.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Riding into a war that’s heating up on the border, Ward, the new lord of Hurog, is sure he’s on the fast track to glory. But soon his mission takes a deadly turn. For he has seen a pile of magical dragon bones hidden deep beneath Hurog Keep. The bones could prove to be dangerous in the wrong hands, and Ward is certain his enemies will stop at nothing to possess them.


I picked up this book because of the author, Patricia Briggs, and how much I enjoy her Mercy Thompson books. Unfortunately, I didn’t like this book as much as that serious 😦 Over half the book was me thinking how much I did not want to read this book, but then I enjoyed the ending???

Let’s talk about the problems I had first:
The world-building was really lacking. I wanted to know the history and how the magic system worked.
I was a little bored reading this, but I think it is because I would be confused or not drawn in — yes, that is what it is. I wasn’t hooked or dedicated to the book, but I wanted to be.

I really doesn’t help this book that I was extremely distracted by the movies my fiance was watching and the continuous cramps I’m living through this week. Because of this, I knew I had to read the book to the end and gave it an extra .5 star making a full 3 stars. There is a lot of good nuggets to this book and here are some I liked:
This book is seriously character-driven. I do like this, but I need some balance with the world-building. That being said, the characters really are cool. There are a few I forgot about (the cousins) or I thought changed completely, but others that I could never forget about such as Ciarra, Ward, Oleg, and Pansy (hehehe).
Ward. Ward is awesome. I love how throughout the book he doesn’t know who he is, but in the end he figures it out and has to come to terms with being who he is. I thought this was great to read. Also, he is slow-talking–a very different trait given to a MC.
Female representation. There are DIFFERENT types of females– there are strong fighters (Stala and Thalia [?]), there are…is… well that one girl (I don’t want to give anything away), and Ciarra who I feel is emotionally strong.

There is not too much action in this book, but the action and strategy that happens is interesting.

If you like high-fantasy and adventure books, then I think you should check this one out. I will be reading the sequel… eventually haha.

Don’t forget…. Hurog means Dragon 😉

Leave a Reply

