Posted in Book review

Book Review: Ever the Hunted

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill
Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Romance, YA

★★☆☆☆

*I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Do you see how beautiful the cover is?! ….I should probably try NOT requesting books because of how pretty their covers are.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is, until her father is murdered. Now outcast and alone and having no rights to her father’s land or inheritance, she seeks refuge where she feels most safe: the Ever Woods. When Britta is caught poaching by the royal guard, instead of facing the noose she is offered a deal: her freedom in exchange for her father’s killer.

However, it’s not so simple.

The alleged killer is none other than Cohen McKay, her father’s former apprentice. The only friend she’s ever known. The boy she once loved who broke her heart. She must go on a dangerous quest in a world of warring kingdoms, mad kings, and dark magic to find the real killer. But Britta wields more power than she knows. And soon she will learn what has always made her different will make her a daunting and dangerous force.


Ever the Hunted is not a bad book. Mostly, my rating is based off of my own personal preference for this one. If you like books with no slow moments, romance-based with angst, and don’t mind cliches, then you should totally read it.

I know, I’m doing this review backwards than usual, but since I only read 25% of the book, I did not really get into it enough to find something I liked — besides the map in the front.

So, what made me stop reading? Honestly, I was bored. I’ve been reading a ton of great books with amazing background and strong characters that when I was thrown into this I felt like I had gone from swimming in the ocean to sitting in a kiddy pool. Perhaps things would have gotten deeper, but when a female’s thoughts are literally only on the male interest and her dead father and not so much on the tracking she is doing or trying to survive with her guards or even next steps in her life, I just *shrugs* I couldn’t get into it.
Surprisingly, it was also too fast-paced for me. “What?!” Yeah, I do like some background information about what people look like or the scenery or even tell me how she tracks instead of ‘she looked around and saw a foot-print’ ….can’t anyone find a footprint? It felt fast enough that I felt like I was skimming–which I wasn’t for once, and I felt I was missing things.
Such as? Well, how about how Leif knew her personality and told her how amazing she is? That… how?! Been traveling together mere days with little talking because of the ‘prisoner- guard’ dymanic and yet he knows Britta is loyal? How? This might have more to do with explaining things and not showing…

I also found another pet peeve of mine which is girls falling in love with ‘their only friend’ because how do you know you love him for real? 

All in all, I don’t think it is a bad book, I think I’m just too advanced for it. Perhaps a young teen or something with little Fantasy reading experience might enjoy this.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ever the Hunted

    1. Judging books by their covers has gotten me into so much trouble haha, but at the same time, I’ve found some great books BECAUSE of their cover so…. what to do???
      I was so bummed with this book… even the sequel’s cover is gorgeous T_T

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

