Posted in Book review

Book Review: Public Relations

Public Relations

Public Relations By Katie Heaney & Arianna Rebolini

Genres/Themes: New Adult, Romance, Humor, Contemporary, Celebrities

★★★★★

*I received this book through Netgallet in exchange for an honest review*

Oh my word, I’m in love with this book. Synopsis from Goodreads:

Young PR star Rose Reed is thrown into the big leagues when her boss leaves town the day of the firm’s meeting with Archie Fox, a young, hot, internationally famous British singer-songwriter. The meeting is going badly until Rose suggests a staged romance with up-and-coming, young indie star Raya. He’ll do it, but only if Rose becomes his publicist.

As the faux-mance begins to rehabilitate Archie’s faltering career, Rose finds his herself having unexpected, inconvenient and definitely unprofessional feelings for the crooner. But do late night texts and impromptu burrito binges mean he feels the same? In the end, Rose will have to decide whether to let her fantasy crush go, or to risk her reputation to be with the charming, handsome, scoundrel-y but sweet pop star she’s grown to love.


I went into it with some anticipation, but didn’t want to make myself too excited, in case I hated it and then never wanted to try New Adult fiction again lol.
I will say, it isn’t the deepest book in the world, but it isn’t supposed to be. This is a fun, easy read, that spoke about things I KNOW! I was able to relate to book for the first time in a loooooong time.
True, I don’t use Tinder (haven’t) since I’m engaged, but I’ve heard the stories and listen to my friends complain.
Skype interviews? Common.
Not falling the path you originally thought? TRUE
Dorky awkward dates? Seriously, this book has it all.

“Black is classic!” I said, sounding slightly shrill.
“It’s also for mourning.”

I was so into this book that I did not check the time and before I knew it I was up WAY past bed time, but I still finished ^_^ It was too good to stop; I had to keep going to see how things worked out (even though we all know how it works out).

Things I didn’t like: not much really… while she did go through struggles, I did kinda think things went a little too easy for her and of course the romance starts because of a ‘spark’, an interest in looks alone… which I’m pretty meh about, but this couple is so cute I couldn’t NOT love them. I will also say, I thought Archie could be…. flat. We don’t get to really know him, which is a bummer.

All in all, it is a light read which shouldn’t be taken too seriously. I’d recommend it to younger adults (18-30) who are looking for a fun, light-hearted read to cleanse their palate between other novels.

After all, the flashing lights weren’t so blinding as long as we kept our eyes on each other.

Leave a Reply

