Posted in First Lines Fridays

First Line Fridays

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

I haven’t done this in a while, BUUUUTTT I bought tons of used books the other day, so I’ve got new material to work with ^_^
Here we go:

I sat at a table in my shadowy kitchen, staring down a bottle of Boone’s Farm Hard Lemonade, when a magic fluctuation hit. My wards shivered and died, leaving my home stripped of its defenses. The TV flared into life, unnaturally loud in the empty house.

I raised my eyebrow at the bottle and bit it that another urgent bulletin was on.

The bottle lost.

“Urgent Bulletin!” Margaret Chang annouced.

Do you know which book this is?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any ideas?

Are you hooked?

Ready?

The book is:

Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)

Magic Bites  by Ilona Andrews

The first book in the series~~
I wish I had the above cover on my book, buutttt I didn’t even know it existed until just now haha. My cover is the weird original one….

Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)

I definitely need to re-read this, although considering I just caught up in the series, not any time soon.

The first book and I didn’t really get along (I didn’t like this series at first), but now that I’m in love with it, I think I could enjoy the first book more.

This is a series I totally recommend anyone who likes UF or Fantasy/sci-fi in general.

This is a world where magic and technology fight for dominance– where magic waves flood the world and make everything tech, useless. Shapeshifters (not just wolves) and vampires (definitely NOT sexy or… even people anymore) and witches, fae, mythological creatures, ghouls, and so much more.

You should definitely give this book a try 🙂


Have you read this series before? Like it? Dislike it?

What books are you planning on reading this weekend?

2 thoughts on “First Line Fridays

Leave a Reply

