Posted in Book review

Book Review: The Innkeeper Chronicles, Volume 1

The Innkeeper Chronicles Volume 1

The Innkeeper Chronicles, Volume 1 by Ilona Andrews

Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Vampires, Werewolves, Aliens, Space travel, Slight- Romance, Action

*I received this book through Netgalley for my honest review*

★★★★★

Absolutely loved this! 3-books-in-1 (Clean Sweep, Sweep in Peace, and One Fell Sweep) and I am now dying for more.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Meet Dina Demille, a nice Texas gal who runs a seemingly ordinary, quaint B&B.  But Dina’s inn is a magic, thinking entity; her fluffy Shih-tzu, Beast really is a beast; and her guests are the kind that no one on earth is supposed to know about:  guests like a dethroned galactic tyrant with a massive bounty on her head, the Lord Marshal of a powerful vampire clan, and a displaced—and superhot—alpha-strain werewolf.

So don’t expect a normal stay…and don’t stand too close, or you may be collateral damage….

In Clean Sweep, Dina—with the unwanted assistance of newcomer (and alpha werewolf) Sean Evans and Arland, a cosmic vampire soldier—takes on an extraterrestrial killing machine that could destroy her Inn, her neighbors, and everything she holds dear.

Sweep in Peace, finds Dina hosting an anything-but peace summit between three warring intergalactic species; Space Vampires, the Hope-Crushing Horde, and the devious Merchants of Baha-char.

One Fell Sweep sends Dina to the galaxy’s worst penal colony to rescue her sister; and back home to fend off a clan of assassins in pursuit, all while saving a guest’s civilization from annihilation…and searching for her missing parents.

Our edition will be huge (over 760 pages), with an original full-color wraparound dust jacket, as well as full-color and black-and-white interior illustrations by Doris Mantair.


To start, one thing I found interesting was how this was just a fun project for the authors at first where they were posting one chapter at a time and then letting people read it. Very interesting how amazing things start out 🙂

Now to the book, just…. wow. Okay, this is definitely more sci-fi than many books I read AND it has aliens which I’m not a big fan of, but here I think it was done really well. Vampires and Werewolves are aliens with their own planets, but so are Hiru, Ku, Othrokar (?), and so many other types that it made it fascinating to read about. They aren’t all gross, not all beautiful, but I feel they were all really fleshed out and made their own.
side note: Ilona Andrews always takes vampires and changes them into something so different I love it.

I thought the concept of the Innkeeper was very interesting and my other thought while reading the third book was “For someone who never leaves the Inn, she sure leaves the Inn a lot” lol in the grand scheme of things she doesn’t, but the little adventures are fun.

Now, besides the characters, the plots are super interesting (to me, at least). Assassins, peace summit, protecting a dying race, all very different and enthralling. The romance was pretty meh to me because it is so obvious, but better than a love triangle, I say! The second book was a bit annoying about it–but I can forgive it because of how it ended. It is a slow build romance for sure, even though the feelings are there. I am interested to see where they will go.
Also, another thing I totally like in a series is an overarching mystery with tidbits shown and given throughout. The main mystery here is Dina’s missing parents. I also think Klaus (Dina’s brother) adds to this mystery considering what we learn about him in the prologue/first chapter of the second book. Great stuff. UNfortunately, CLIFF HANGER with this mystery at the third book!! I’M DYING.

To wrap up, I absolutely love this series and how funky it is. I can’t wait to read more. At this point, Ilona Andrews is a auto-read for me. I love the books so much. I swear, I read these books in like 2 days.

Image result for gif squeal

Recommend to everyone who like Ilona andrews, or interesting species, weird magic, and UF without a lot a sex (only one sex scene so far!). Please read this and let me know what you think about it ^_^

Leave a Reply

