Posted in Book review

Book Review: The Last Condo Board of the Apocalypse

The Last Condo Board of the Apocalypse (Kelly Driscoll #1)

The Last Condo Board of the Apocalypse by Nina Post

Genres/Themes: Urban Fantasy, Slight Sci-fi, Humor (?), Monsters, Angels, Apocalypse

★☆☆☆☆

*I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for a honest review*

DNF @ 70% 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When hundreds of fallen angels and dimension-hopping monsters take over a highrise condo building, a down-on-her-luck bounty hunter must team up with an unlikely group of allies to prevent the apocalypse.

Kelly Driscoll tracks down monsters for a living, but the job isn’t what it used to be. Vampire hunters are the new big thing, but Kelly doesn’t swing that way. When a reclusive client hires her to locate a rival angel, Kelly’s search takes her to a downtown highrise that has become home to hundreds of fallen angels and dimension-hopping monsters.

As the fallen angels take over the condo board, argue over who’s handling pizza delivery, and begin planning for a little shindig otherwise known as the apocalypse, Kelly must team up with an unlikely group of allies to find her target and keep the fallen angels at bay. In the process, she befriends a reluctant Angel of Destruction, gets tips from a persistent ferret, uncovers the mysteries behind Pothole City’s hottest snack food empire, and tries to prevent the end of the world.


Alright, I just want the record to show, that I really did try. When I DNF books I usually stop before 20%, so I think I did really good. If I get this far though, I usually finish…. It’s just there I was at 9pm groaning over how I had no idea what was going on and my skimming wasn’t working because I’d be even more lost. Usually if I am trying to get through a book I’m not liking I can skim and get the basic parts… NO I’d go back read a page again and still be totally confused.

I do enjoy random humor and ridiculous concepts even, which this book was full of. Angels are banished to a luxurious condo. Yet, I personally need something to hold on to– I need a straight man (not gender but comedy-wise) who is going WTF?! or some explanation : are these monsters normal? does the world know there is an apocalypse coming? do cops not investigate missing pizza delivery boys?
I need to know.

I also would like the setting to be described so I know what I’m looking at. Is there modern tech– oh that gets answered later, yes there are cellphones– so why are they using a tube to deliver messages? Where is Pothole City? Is it in the US? Is it in a desert? Also, what does Kelly Driscoll look like, because her eyes are mentioned as in “hide her unusual eye color” and either I accidentally missed that or it wasn’t mentioned.

I feel like I’m really hating on this book, and I don’t want to be. It was an interesting concept and at like chapter 5 I did kinda get into it… I probably left the book right as it was about to explain everything, but unfortunately, I stopped caring 😦

Me and this book, just didn’t connect. T_T

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Condo Board of the Apocalypse

  1. What a shame… Both the cover and the concept look sooo good! But, hey, at least you tried. Although, personally, if I had read up to as much as 70% I would probably force myself to finish just to make sure I wasn’t missing out.
    Great review, Sionna 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know!!! It was a super cool looking cover. On a normal day I probably would have tried finishing, but I was so tired of reading haha plus I had to go to bed, so when I woke up in the morning I was like “To continue or… naaahhhhhh” haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

