Posted in Down The TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole #1

Scrolling down my feed, I noticed a post by The Book Prophet about reviewing and tackling TBR piles. Since, I my list on Goodreads is over 900 books, I thought joining this would be for the best ^_^

This post was created by Lia from Lost in a Story since many of us add more books in a week than we actually read and sometimes completely forget what the heck is on the list (so guilty). Since I started my Goodreads list back in 2012 — then abandoned it for a few years and then came back and started adding things without reviewing what was already on my list…. this fits me to a T. 

How it works:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Current TBR list amount: 971

Because this is my first week  I’ll be doing the first 10 today.


Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, #1)
Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) by Cassandra Clare

Ummm, wow… okay, so this is the first book added to my TBR, besides any I might have already read… Considering this is on my series reading challenge this year…

Judgement: Keep!

 

Angelfire (Angelfire, #1)
Angelfire (Angelfire #1) by Courtney Allison Moulton

This one is #1 on TBR list currently because it has been on the list so long and I want to see if the series is even worth reading or if it is just taking up space. It sounds decent, but who knows. Anyhow, I currently have a hold on it at my library.

Judgement: Keep

 

 

 

Midnight's Daughter (Dorina Basarab, #1)
Midnight’s Daughter (Dorina Basarab #1) by Karen Chance

This is another one which I’m on the fence about… it does sound interesting. Another positive point, my library does have it, even as an e-book AND audiobook.

Judgement: Keep

Sweet on You (The Cupcake Diaries #1)
Sweet on You (The Cupcake Diaries #1) by Darlene Panzera

I may have gone through a ‘cooking cozy mystery’ phase and this book looks so cute and yummy!! I want to keep this one, but realistically… I don’t think I’ll ever get to it. Also, it has a 3.3 rating on Goodreads… so better safe than waste my time?

Judgement: Go (unless someone convinces me to bring it back)

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires, #1)
Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires #1) by Chloe Neill

Date added to TBR: May 20th, 2012

Okay, I love vampire books, plus she is a grad school student which would make this New Adult, right? Also, available at the library so….

Judgement: Keep

 

Night Embrace (Dark-Hunter #2)

Night Embrace (Dark-Hunterverse #3/ Dark Hunter #2) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Date added to TBR: May 23rd, 2012
Hmm… apparently, I have read the books that came before this, but I honestly don’t remember them at all so….

 

Judgement: Go

Mind Games (The Disillusionists, #1)
Mind Games (The Disillusionists #1) by Carolyn Crane

Date added to TBR: May 23rd, 2012

Hmmm, I am very much on the fence with this one… it seems interesting, but it also has a love triangle. I also read that it is super different from other PNRs, so….

Judgement: Keep (for now)

 

The Warlord Wants Forever (Immortals After Dark #1)
The Warlord Wants Forever (Immortals After Dark #1) by Kresley Cole

I’m not sure I’m into these books too much anymore. I mean I like PNR, but I don’t care so much about the massive amounts of sex, so….

Judgement: Go

 
Marked (Eternal Guardians, #1)
Marked (Eternal Guardians #1) by Elisabeth Naughton

War with the Underworld? Interesting
Woman has to die, but man falls in love with her? Meh

 

Judgement: Go

 

 

Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, #1)
Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas #1) by Dean Koontz

When I was in high school I was a huge fan of Dean Koontz. I’ve also been meaning to read this one for a long time– I have gotten it from the library, but then I never get around to reading it… I think I’ll keep it around longer and hope for the best.

Judgement: Keep

 


 

I hope you liked this insider’s look at my TBR list. Hopefully I can keep it down until next week when I do this again ^_^

What do you think about my Judgements? Should I change any?

10 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #1

  1. I love this idea! I did a full scale version of this near the end of last year because my TBR was so unmanagable for me and cut about 100 books off the list, and diverted some to a ‘read someday’ list (out of about 350-400 books on the list at the time). The ‘read someday’ list is full of potentials and ones I need to be in the right mood for and has actually been pretty popular choices this year. It gave me the chance to remove it from my immediate list while still keeping it around just in case and helped me cut out a lot of books that I didn’t actually want to read.

    That being said, I think I should do something like this again to cut the list down some more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good idea as well! I have more of a general TBR list that I’m cutting back… and honestly it is so long that I 1)forget books are on it, and 2) don’t look at when I’m looking for books to read!
      So, I’m hoping this project will help me get drop books I don’t think I’ll read and also prompt interest in books I’ve forgotten about ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mine got so long because I found booktube after limiting my reading for years because of school so I added all the books without much heed to what I actually wanted to read at that moment. So the purge was good! But it can be scary to do it all at once, so a slow purge is a great idea.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you decided to do this! Although my TBR hasn’t really decreased (I am removing books, but still adding them as well), I feel so happy just knowing that I’m getting rid of books that I for sure will never read. You did good for your first time! It was so hard for me because my TBR has so many books on it that are still interesting to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the beginning will be easy since I haven’t looked at these books too much ^_^ I have a bad habit of clicking the “want to read” button before reading the whole synopsis haha.
      It will be difficult to not add too many new books to the TBR list haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

