Posted in Reading Challenges

Challenge: Finish Those Series!

I read a post by Kati over at To Be Read (who is amazing and you should definitely check out the blog) about finishing series [post here]. Since then I’ve been thinking about it and I am have also looked at my FictFact page and realized I really need to finish some series.

So, the way I’m doing this is not strictly a ‘challenge’ and I am pretty lax with my rules more so than other people because, I’m just trying to get series off my TBR so I don’t have to keep re-reading them to understand what is going on in the next book and then not finish the series.

Rules? Just gotta be a series I am currently in the middle of (re-read or not) and it has to be completed! AND!! I have a year to do it, so there will be quite a few series listed below.

Series to Finish:

*In order of which I’ll try to finish

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #5) I am on the last book in this little series and, yes, it did just come in from the library, but including it is the last I reassure myself that I am and will be finishing it. I’m so excited!!!

Night Huntress & Night Prince by Jeaniene Frost

One Grave at a Time (Night Huntress, #6)Once Burned (Night Prince, #1)Twice Tempted (Night Prince, #2)Up from the Grave (Night Huntress, #7)Bound by Flames (Night Prince, #3)Into the Fire (Night Prince, #4)

Two different series, but not only do they take place in the same world, they overlap!!! So, I’ll need to start Night Prince in order to finish Night Huntress. It seems like I’m cheating since I’ve never started Night Prince, but since I can’t finish the other series without spoilers for the other… I think it counts.
Also, as my fave series and author, I’ve gotta get these read so I can still claim she is my fave 🙂
Where am I at in the series? I’ve been currently reading Night Huntress just finishing all the books I’ve read from it, so from here on it is all new 😀

Tortall World books by Tamora Pierce

Trickster's Queen (Daughter of the Lioness, #2)

Trickster’s Queen is the last book in a series I started a few weeks back, so I want to finish this up real quick.

Terrier (Beka Cooper, #1)Bloodhound (Beka Cooper, #2)Mastiff (Beka Cooper, #3)

This is the last completed Tortall series and I’ve only read Terrier! Since I’ve been on a Tortall series binge, I bought the last two books (peeved they dont look the same) and I am ready to finish Beka Cooper’s series as well as all the Tortall stories [for now ^_^]

Since I actually bought these books and they are sitting on my bookshelf, they are pretty high priority. Also, this is another case of “my favorite author” so I wanna make sure I’ve read it all.

Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger

The Parasol Protectorate Boxed Set: Soulless, Changeless, Blameless, Heartless and Timeless

OMG! I NEED TO FINISH THIS. I’ve read the first book 2 times already and haven’t gotten around to continuing it even though I liked it. I am determined above all else to finish it!!
I will read the first book again (UGH), but it is okay… just one book extra.

This is practically an act of desperation. There are only 5!! I can do this!!

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyers

Image result for lunar chronicles

I started this last year, getting only to Scarlet [including novellas] before I couldn’t fit the books in to challenges and promptly, forgot about it. This is the time!! I will finish it!! I really do like the series and now I know it is completed 🙂
Since it has been a while I’ll start from the beginning though.

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath & the Dawn (The Wrath & the Dawn, #1)The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2)

I started this– LOVED IT! Received The Rose & The Dagger but never found time to read it before I had to return it to the library T_T Now that it isn’t too popular I think I can get them back quickly.
I think I’ll start this over as well :/ It won’t add too much…

As for why this isn’t higher up the list… for some reason I don’t feel compelled as much to read it more than TLC even though it is shorter. Plus, I’m fairly confident I won’t forget about these books.

Mortal Instruments Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Image result for mortal instruments books

….do not ask me how many times I’ve read City of Bones (perhaps 3?) and I still haven’t finished this series even though I love it… now I’ve been told the it also overlaps at times with Infernal Devices so…. gotta add those too?

Image result for infernal devices books

We are now in the territory of I will probably not make it to these but since this series/world is talked about everywhere I gotta try.

The Bane Chronicles

I’ll add The Bane Chronicles just in case…. I’ll look up reading order more later.

Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris

Image result for sookie stackhouse books

Last and I probably won’t get to, is the Sookie Stackhouse series. I’ve read all the way to Dead and Gone until I gave up thinking they would never end BUT THEY DID!!! So, now I need to read them and buy them! Perhaps even trade in the hardbacks (2) for paperback for a complete and uniform set.

Total amount of books TBR: 46

It is important to note that I know this is a lot to bite off and I am positive I won’t finish it all, but challenges are about trying and actually giving yourself a challenge ^_^
If I can at least finish the series before TMI I will be happy with myself.
The remaining ones will roll over to next year 🙂 


Do you have a problem with finishing series?

Are there any you are trying to finish this year?

8 thoughts on “Challenge: Finish Those Series!

      1. Oh man, same here. I finally buckled down and started reading the whole shebang of the world’s books (Clare has SO MANY and they just keep coming…), and I’m still reading them. Good luck!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

