Posted in T5W

T5W: Fave LGBTQA+ Books

This week’s topic: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads
–Talk about your favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors.

I haven’t read many books with a LGBTQA+ main lead, but I didn’t want to put books on this list where the character is a side character where it isn’t mentioned often or seems waaaaayy to far back in the background. So, I rummaged through the lists (realizing I need to make a shelf for this on goodreads).

Here is my list in no order:

 Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Seriously, how can people not like this book. I absolutely loved it and thought it was hilarious….yet sad (I probably teared up). This is one book I recommend to everyone.

Boy Meets Boy

What is an LGBTQA+ list without David Levithan???
This is another hilarious book with proud enthusiastic characters who really stand out.
This is another book I recommend to everyone.

Girl Mans Up

This book is just… WOW. Honestly, I cried, I freaked out alongside the characters, and screamed (internally) about family and misguided “loyalty”. Yes, this book is great.

LumberJanes

LUMBERJANES!!! This comic is hilarious and amazing– I have actually bought copies for friends. While the relationship is pretty mild in the first book, it is more obvious later on even if it is still in the background a bit.

Sometimes We Tell the Truth

If you haven’t read this, you really should. This book deals with intersex as well which is pretty cool to bring up. The real story is in between stories that ever person tells and it is so interesting. Reading the stories of the characters allows you to connect with them. Seriously, go read this.


Have you read any of my choices? Which books do you like?

Comment below with your answer or link to your own post! 🙂

9 thoughts on “T5W: Fave LGBTQA+ Books

    1. It was actually the first not straight character main lead book I had ever read, so it will always hold that position and I’m glad I ended up loving it as much as I do. Unfortunately, I heard the author’s next book was not as lovely.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

