Posted in Book review

Book Review: Real Murders

Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden Mysteries #1) by Charlaine Harris

Genres/Themes: Cozy Mystery – crime, Romance, Audiobook

★★★☆☆

I am re-reading this series in order to review the ninth book which I got from netgalley.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Though a small town at heart, Lawrenceton, Georgia, has its dark side-and crime buffs. One of whom is librarian Aurora “Roe” Teagarden, a member of the Real Murders Club, which meets once a month to analyze famous cases. It’s a harmless pastime-until the night she finds a member killed in a manner that eerily resembles the crime the club was about to discuss. And as other brutal “copycat” killings follow, Roe will have to uncover the person behind the terrifying game, one that casts all the members of Real Murders, herself included, as prime suspects-or potential victims.


I listened to this one as an audiobook and I am kinda feeling “meh” about this. This is definitely a cozy mystery with a librarian *cringe*. As a library school student it is difficult listening to her talk about the things she does at the library and has other people do research…. drove me crazy.

And seriously can she stop talking down about herself??? Kisses two guys within 24 hours and calls herself a “hussy” *groan* I swear it is killing me. Plus, she is so judgmental. Like, the kissing thing isn’t getting to me, but the fact she is planning two dates on the same day. No my thing, but I could run with it for Aurora if she didn’t keep acting like she was turning into a tramp– and then getting jealous someone else was getting married.

The setting and atmosphere is nice though and I did like the mystery. So, I’ll try the next book — I’ll read it this time, and see if I like it any more than the first.

Leave a Reply

