Posted in Book review

Book Review: Wink, Poppy, Midnight


Genres/Themes: Magical Realism, YA, Mystery, Contemporary

★★★☆☆

I think I jinxed myself… “Oh only 5 hours, this will be so easy to get through” UGH

Synopsis from Goodreads

Every story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.


The ending to me, was actually the best part haha that twist was the great part. It made sense. I suppose, I like things that make sense.

This isn’t a bad book, but I was just over it. The aesthetic. The way of writing. Perhaps even the unreliable narrators. The more I think about it though, the more I know I can’t give the book a 2 star rating– it is better than that. I do see that people could really come to like it.

I will say that Midnight and his romances are so, so annoying.

Who do I think will like this? People who like When the Moon was Ours and those who like mysteries and wondering what is true when they know they can trust no one. Those who want to believe in the little magics of the world, even if they might not really be there.

Leave a Reply

