Posted in First Lines Fridays

First Line Fridays

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

Here we go:

“Morning”
The curtains swooshed open, and light poured into my room. I mashed the feather pillow into my face, wishing the woman moving around my room would disappear.
“Can’t I be homeschooled? Or at least try online high school. One year. I’ve only got one year left.” I extended my arm and pointed my index finger up.
“You know what your mother yould say.” I heard Elizabeth cross to the dresser.
“Does she remember what it’s like to be a teenager? Can I get a replacement for her? Or at least a refund?”

Any ideas?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This probably is a difficult one….

Ready?

And the book is:

Kingdom of Embers (Kingdom Journals vol. 1) by Tricia Copeland

This is my next book up to read. I’m sort of interested in it… the first lines are not super excited, but not all books can hook us from the first page 🙂


What book/s are you reading currently?

Leave a Reply

