Posted in Book review

Book Review: Blood Rose Rebellion

Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

Genres/Themes: YA, Historic (kinda), Fantasy

2-2.5 ★

*I received a copy of this book through netgalley, nut all opinions are my own*

First thought after finishing: meh

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Sixteen-year-old Anna Arden is barred from society by a defect of blood. Though her family is part of the Luminate, powerful users of magic, she is Barren, unable to perform the simplest spells. Anna would do anything to belong. But her fate takes another course when, after inadvertently breaking her sister’s debutante spell—an important chance for a highborn young woman to show her prowess with magic—Anna finds herself exiled to her family’s once powerful but now crumbling native Hungary.

Her life might well be over.

In Hungary, Anna discovers that nothing is quite as it seems. Not the people around her, from her aloof cousin Noémi to the fierce and handsome Romani Gábor. Not the society she’s known all her life, for discontent with the Luminate is sweeping the land. And not her lack of magic. Isolated from the only world she cares about, Anna still can’t seem to stop herself from breaking spells.

As rebellion spreads across the region, Anna’s unique ability becomes the catalyst everyone is seeking. In the company of nobles, revolutionaries, and Romanies, Anna must choose: deny her unique power and cling to the life she’s always wanted, or embrace her ability and change that world forever.


I enjoyed the beginning of this book and was sooooo excited. I felt like I kept waiting for the reason of my excitement to be met…. and realized 80% into the book if I put it down and never finished, I’d be okay with that… skipped pages here and there to get to the end.

Anna is a character I wish I could like, I just wish she’d make up her mind!! Also, making up her mind then backing out because of a reason she already must have known before, but just didn’t think about??? I guess???

I like the way the rebellion was written though, I think that is fairly realistic and heart-breaking- I just didn’t care enough. I really wanted to care about the characters and if I had listened to this as an audiobook, maybe I would have. For now though, ugh.

Weirdly enough there were a few times I had to flip back a page while thinking “what did I just read?” “How did we get here?”
I was bored with a story I did not think was going anywhere, not just slow pacing but almost backward at times as if they needed to make stuff up to hit a word count (as a student, I get that).

Also, what was the point of the roses? I noticed them in a few places, but never understoof the significance. If you know, please tell me. 

Probably won’t read the sequel, I just don’t see a point. But, if you like semi-historical fiction and fantasy you might enjoy this more than I did.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Blood Rose Rebellion

Leave a Reply

