Posted in T5W

T5W: Favorite Sci-Fi & Fantasy 3/8/17

This week’s topic: Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

I have loved Fantasy since I was a child, so this is a definite hard one. I will do 5 fantasy and 5 sci-fi (kinda cheating buuuuut I’m going with it).

Science Fiction

Scythe (Arc of Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman

I am still not over this book!! Really absolutely loved it. This was definitely sci-fi, but not the kind with hi-tech words thrown around all the time. I guess I would call it low sci-fi.

 

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong

Another book I absolutely cannot get over. It has been a year since I read it, but still keep bringing it up to people. This is a book I think I need to buy so I can read it again.

Tokyo Crazy Paradise by Yoshiki Nakamura

Yes, I bring this comic up a lot. This might be a stretch for sc-fi, but I think it still fits… it is dystopian, crazy drugs, and weird weapons and science advancements, therefore I count it!

Lady Mechanika Vol. 1 by Joe Benitez

Steampunk!!! Absolutely love steampunk! This book totally hits that, and does not include fantasy.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Okay, so I really liked this book, but I am not sure exactly if I would call it a favorite. Then again, the concept is so amazing that I think about the book constantly [this may also be because I am watching SAO].

Fantasy

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress #1) by Jeaniene Frost

One of my absolutely favorite books. VAMPIRES! Cliche? yup, but I do not care. I love it all the same.

Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness #1) by Tamora Pierce

My favorite childhood book. I will be reading this book this week for class and while I am excited, I am worried I will not like it as much as I did as a kid so I haven’t started yet…

Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo

Thieving teens, magic, badass-ery ??, this is SO my series, but I am still not over the ending. I really hope there is another series in this world– I do not want to leave yet.

Sailor Moon Vol. 1 by Naoko Takeuchi

Another childhood favorite, show at least, which I finally read in high school and fell in love with all over again. This is where I fell in love with magical strong girls.

Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows #1) by Kim Harrison

This is another world I love reading about. There is so much magic and so many types of magical people. I love it, but I know many people don’t, so I do not always recommend this one to people.


Have you read any of this books? Disagree with any of my choices and if so what would you change it with?
What are some of your favorite sci-fi and fantasy books?

8 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite Sci-Fi & Fantasy 3/8/17

    1. If you like VR/AR gaming, sci-fi, and either like or don’t mind tons of 80s references thrown at you, I would recommend reading it! It was a pretty awesome read and some of the tech advancements that are happening remind me of the book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

