Posted in Tuesday Talks

Tuesday Talks: Reading Slump 3/7/17

Tuesday Talks is for anyone who loves to discuss certain topics covering books, authors, libraries, book stores and so much more. Tuesday Talks consists mainly of Book tubers and bloggers, but anyone can join on discussions and can share their thoughts. We also encourage input from members on topics to discuss as well.

Tuesday Talks can be found on Goodreads! This week’s topic is: How do you get out of a reading slump?

Oh goodness a reading slump…

I go through many slumps with many different activities, so I end up calling them ‘phases’. I have a reading novels phase where I read books any chance I get! Then slowly transition to manga/comics and finish 200000 series or oneshots before slowly getting into anime or a tv series and binge-watching the heck out of them.

It hasn’t been until starting this blog and Netgalley that I’ve really considered my reading slumps to be bad things. Honestly, I try to let them run their course– give it a week or two and if I still don’t want to read what I have I’ll find a book I REALLY want to read and read it in hopes that it pulls me back to reading.

If I cannot find a book I really want to read, but I know I have a pile of books that need reading, sometimes I just have to force myself to sit down and read something. With webcomics, this has been a little more difficult for me. Twice this week I have sat down to read The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz only to pick up my phone instead and find a new comic (which I can’t finish) to read.

This cannot continue…. today must be the day when I start reading novels again!!

I think my biggest curiosity is about, how book slumps come about. I wonder why we get into these slumps– what causes them?

Last summer I went about 3 THREE months without a slump and I read probably near 90 books. Yet, here I am now in March with barely 20 books done and little desire to read– although when I start a book I can get into it, it is the starting part I have a problem with!!


How do you deal with your reading slumps?

Do you have an idea about what starts them?

Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Talks: Reading Slump 3/7/17

Leave a Reply

