Posted in TTT

TTT! Favorite Visual Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

Theme: Favorite Visual Books – Picture Books, Comics or Graphic Novels

Oh man, I LOVE manga and web comics. I’m currently still in the middle of a HUGE web comic binge and I have about 10 manga that I keep up with as they are published. Did I also mention I decided (partly) on my B.A. to be Japanese because of manga and comics?
I guess my point is this is a hard one…. I’m going to give it a shot though. 

  1. Tokyo Crazy Paradise by Nakamura Yoshiki

    img_20170206_1816061
    This is actually one of my shelves!!

    Anyone who knows me knows, I absolutely love this series. For those of you who read manga this is written/illustrated by the same person who does Skip Beat. It was one of the first manga I ever read and probably the one I’ve read the most times. I’m probably due to read it again 🙂 Unfortunately…. it has not been officially released in the US and since it has been out for… wow… over a decade with change I don’t see it ever coming over. T_T
    Summary:
    It’s the year 2020 AD, and Tokyo II is a city infested with crime. Women can no longer go out in the streets alone without being victimized. Not wanting their daughter to suffer the same fate, Tsukasa Kozuki’s cop parents raise her as a boy. When they are suddenly killed by one of the yakuza’s in-fights, Tsukasa is left orphaned on the streets along with her three brothers. With no other options, she goes to the only person she can think of for help: pokerface Ryuji Shirogami, her classmate of 8 years and also the head leader of the powerful yakuza group, Kuryugumi. Ryuji, whose father was also a victim of the same yakuza fight, agrees to take her on as his personal bodyguard. As they set out to find their enemy, Ryuji slaps an increasing amount of debt onto Tsukasa, using all manner of ploys to keep the reluctant Tsukasa by his side.

    *the rest aren’t in any order*

    Ranma 1/2 by Rumiko Takahashi


This was written by the author who wrote Inuyasha, for those curious. This manga is HILARIOUS! Gender bender with forced feminization, and while there are some crude jokes or the perverts can go too far, I still think it is a great work. Be prepared though! This one is over 30 volumes long.
Summary :

Ranma Saotome is a top-class martial artist and prodigy at the Saotome “Anything-Goes” school of martial arts. While training in China, he and his father meet a terrible fate when they accidentally fall into a cursed spring. Now, Ranma is cursed to turn into a girl when splashed with cold water, and only hot water can turn him back into a boy.
Things are only complicated further when Ranma discovers that his father has arranged for him to marry one of Soun Tendo’s three daughters in order to secure the future of the Tendo dojo. Though Soun learns of Ranma’s predicament, he is still determined to go ahead with the engagement, and chooses his youngest daughter Akane, who happens to be a skilled martial artist herself and is notorious for hating men.
Ranma ½ follows the hilarious adventures of Ranma and Akane as they encounter various opponents, meet new love interests, and find different ways to make each other angry, all while their engagement hangs over their head

Meru Peri by Matsuri Hino

  • I read this one sooooo many times I ended up buying it. Only 4 volumes, so it is not too much to read, but it is super cute. I haven’t read it in years…. I should re-read it soon. And being that this is written by Matsuri Hino, you KNOW the artwork is will be beautiful!
    Summary: 

All high school freshman Airi Hoshina ever wanted was to someday live in a cozy home with a loving husband, and find joy in the little things in life. As a result, she makes it her daily mission to get to school on time because school legend has it that the longer one’s non-tardy streak is, the better boyfriend one will find. But just when her daily routine is working like clockwork, an occurrence of fairytale proportions threatens to disrupt her grand plan.

The Devil Does Exist by Takanashi Mitsuba

This is another one that I’ve read time and time again. The art can be off-putting at times but, after a few chapters I started to like the art. Even though this is not pretty like Arina Tanemura, I think it has its own appeal.
Really, I think the story is wonderful.

Summary: 
High school is hard for Kayano. When she tries to confess her love to the kind but distant Yuichi, the school bully Takeru makes her life hell. But things get worse when Kayano’s mother gets engaged to Takeru’s father, the school principal!
Soon enough, instead of be in love with Yuichi, she falls in her love with her future brother, Takeru.
What will she do about this forbidden love?

Sailor Moon by Naoko Takeuchi


Honestly, a classic. I’ve loved Sailor Moon (anime) since I was in diapers. I read the manga finally in high school and about cried my eyes out. This one will always hold a special place in my heart!
Summary: 
Sailor Moon is about a seemingly ordinary lazy middle school student, Usagi/Serena, who one day saves a cat from being bullied, unknowingly the starting point of her destiny. The cat, Luna, she saves comes back and tells her she is Sailor Moon. Their initial quest is to find the rest of the Sailor Scouts and in turn find Princess Serenity.
While Sailor Moon may start out afraid and unwilling to fight, with friends to help her gain courage and truly understand herself, she walks a path to potentially become the hero of the universe.

Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

Wow, another one which I will sincerely love for a long while yet. While, I have only read this fully once, I have also watched the anime and seriously fell in love with these characters. I guess I have a thing for gender benders and comedy ^_^


Summary:

Haruhi Fujioka is a bright scholarship candidate with no rank or title to speak of—a rare species at Ouran High School, an elite academy for students of high pedigree. When she opens the door to Music Room #3 hoping to find a quiet place to study, Haruhi unexpectedly stumbles upon the Host Club. Led by the princely Tamaki, the club—whose other members include the “Shadow King” Kyouya, the mischievous Hitachiin twins, and the childlike Haninozuka “Honey” and his strong protector Mori—is where handsome boys with too much time on their hands entertain the girls in the academy.

In a frantic attempt to remove herself from the hosts, Haruhi ends up breaking a vase worth eight million yen and is forced into becoming the eccentric group’s general errand boy to repay her enormous debt. However, thanks to her convincingly masculine appearance, her naturally genial disposition toward girls, and fascinating commoner status, she is soon promoted to full-time male host and plunged headlong into a glitzy whirlwind of elaborate cosplays, rich food, and exciting shenanigans that only the immensely wealthy Ouran Host Club can pull off.

Lumberjanes by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen and Noelle Stevenson

Okay, it is about time I mix things up and add something else besides manga. Lumberjanes is a comic I read last year and fell in love with. Amazing female characters WHO ARE ALL DIFFERENT. I love it. I ended up liking it so much I bought the first two for a friend as a Christmas present and told her to read it. Diverse cast not only in looks, but in personality, love interests, and all fun in their own way. Could not recommend this one more.
Summary:
Five best friends spending the summer at Lumberjane scout camp…defeating yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons…what’s not to love?!

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

I feel like I’m cheating by putting down another one by Noelle Stevenson, but they are just that good. Nimona is only one volume long but it packs a punch. Hilarious until I started crying out of nowhere. How did I get so attached?!

Summary:
Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.
But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

Tower of God by SIU

Can’t really pick or find a good picture…. all online legally through Webtoon! Really, go check it out. It is still ongoing but we are already over 200 chapters in and just… WOAH. I was binge reading this last week and I ended up dreaming about fighting up a tower, okay? Absolutely cannot stop thinking about it, but I don’t want to catch up all the way because… then I’ll be caught up and have to wait? So hard not to read when all I want to dive in again….
Summary:
Baam one day enters the tower following his only friend Rachel. He soon realizes this isn’t a tower one just enters, but is invited. He was invited by the tower and not by a being within the tower, making him an irregular. Baam does not seek power, glory, riches, or anything besides his friendship making him even more of an anomaly. In an environment where one must defeat enemies and tests in order to proceed higher up the tower, how will Baam survive, and what will become of him?

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun by Doga Kobo


Yes, another manga, I couldn’t help myself. This is another comedy. It is written in 4-koma style which means only 4 squares for each section… think comic strip if you will. I haven’t read this one in English yet, but I want to catch up so I might eventually just give in and save myself the time from reading at a toddler’s pace in Japanese.

Summary:
Chiyo Sakura is a cheerful high school girl who has fallen head over heels for the oblivious Umetarou Nozaki. Much to Chiyo’s confusion, when she confesses to her beloved Nozaki, he hands her an unfamiliar autograph. As it turns out, the stoic teenage boy is actually a respected shoujo mangaka, publishing under the pen name Sakiko Yumeno! A series of misunderstandings leads to Chiyo becoming one of Nozaki’s manga assistants.

Throughout the hilarious events that ensue, she befriends many of her quirky schoolmates, including her seemingly shameless fellow assistant, Mikoto Mikoshiba, and the “Prince of the School,” Yuu Kashima. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun follows Chiyo as she strives to help Nozaki with his manga and hopes that he will eventually notice her feelings.

Notable mentions aka ones I didn’t think of until I already finished:

Hana Kimi by Hisaya Nakajo (have a live drama with my FAVORITE Japanese male actor Oguri Shun)Wiki
Hot Gimmick by Miki Aihara (I’ve read this a few times as a teen and loved it. As an adult… I’m afraid to read it and realize I hate it.) Wiki
Wild Act by Rie Takada (kinda the same reasons as above….) Wiki
Super Secret by eon (webcomic and SO CUTE!!)
Kind of Confidential by Vivian Darlin (webcomic. I’m on the edge with this one… but I would like to recommend it)


Phew! That was a LONG post for me…. Have you read anything I’ve listed above? Agree or disagree with me? Have something you would add to the list or recommend to me??? Please let me know~

6 thoughts on “TTT! Favorite Visual Books

  1. I’m very peculiar about my manga’s visuals (sometimes even more than the story itself, which is shamefully vain of me 😡 )
    Even though it’s not my favorite of styles, I am super interested in Lumberjanes and Nimona!T They sound absolutely adorable and completely relatable. Great post!

    Like

    1. I can understand that! There are some graphic novels and web comics I can’t read because the art just reeeeallly isn’t my style.
      Out of every thing on the list, Lumberjanes and Nimona are probably the ones I would recommend to everyone. They are so cute.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

