Posted in Book review

Review: Manga Classics — Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre (Manga Classics)

Genres/Themes: Historical, Romance, Classic, Manga

★★★★☆

*I received this book through netgalley, but all thoughts and ideas about it are my own*

To start, I have to admit I have never read Jane Eyre… or most of the ‘classics’. I have been meaning to and I love manga so, when I saw this pop up I decided to give it a try.

Summary from Goodreads:

As an orphaned child, Jane Eyre is first cruelly abused by her aunt, then cast out and sent to a charity school. Though she meets with further abuse, she receives an education, and eventually takes a job as a governess at the estate of Edward Rochester. Jane and Rochester begin to bond, but his dark moods trouble her. When Jane uncovers the terrible secret Rochester has been hiding, she flees and finds temporary refuge at the home of St. John Rivers


It was a very interesting read. I do really want to read the novel now so I can compare them because there were many places where the manga felt awkward. There were scenes or dialogue that seemed to come out of nowhere or not match the tone I suspected. This could also just be a time difference…. I wish we had more thought bubbles from Jane so we could understand things better.

Things also seems super rushed! It was almost like a cliffnotes version with beautiful artwork, though without reading the actual book I don’t know if this is how the original went as well so, I did not want to mark it down for this.

Very interesting though and I thought the artwork was very pretty.

Leave a Reply

