Posted in T5W

Top 5 Wednesday: 8/17 Favorite First Sentences

This week’s theme is favorite first sentences.

Now, I’m not great at remembering my favorite first sentences so, most of these will be sentences from books I have around and the best that I find.

I stiffened at the read and blue lights flashing behind me, because there was no way I could explain what was in the back of my truck.

Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost is the start of my favorite book series.Of course it starts off with a little shock. Yes, some people are afraid of the people but, Cat is afraid because of whatever is hidden in her truck… oh what could it be 😉


 

The screw through Cinder’s ankle had rusted, the engraved cross marks work to a mangled circle.

Well, way to start us off! Definitely know something is different about Cinder here and I for one wanted to know what was up!


 

 

As Marek Tober stared down the barrel of a very finely crafted pistol, he began to seriously question his life choices.

The Tower Must Fall by S.E. Bennett was one of the first books I picked out from Netgalley and I was NOT disappointed. This sentence sparked my interest from the beginning, serious with a touch of humor.

cover89087-medium


 

Even when there are no prisoners, I can still hear the screams.

This lovely sentence comes from The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury. Who is this person and why do they hear prisoners screaming often? What does she do? Yeah, I was hooked.

23411347


 

 

If Zoey Ashe had known she was being stalked by a man who intended to kill her and then slowly eat her bones, she would have worried more about that and less about getting her cat off the roof.

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong is definitely a wild ride and right from the start. Um seriously, how is she going to get away from this weirdo? Will she? What’s going on?! Those were all my thoughts when I first started this book. What an interesting world…


These are the books I picked and also ones I highly recommend! Have you read any of these? Have any other great first lines to share?
Let me know~

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: 8/17 Favorite First Sentences

Leave a Reply

