Posted in Book review

Mini Review: Moon Called

Moon Called (Mercy Thompson #1) by Patricia Briggs

Genres/ Themes: Adult, Fantasy, Vampires, Werewolves, Fae, Other creatures

★★★★★

This was a re-read for me. I haven’t finished the series so, I decided to was time to restart. 

Synopsis from goodreads:

Mercy Thompson’s next next-door neighbor is a werewolf. She’s tinkering with a VW bus that happens to belong to a vampire. But then, Mercy Thompson is not exactly normal herself…

Mercy is a shapeshifter, and though she was raised by werewolves, she can never be one of them. So she’s turned her talent for fixing cars into a business and now runs a one-woman mechanic shop in the Tri-Cities area of Washington State.

But Mercy’s two worlds are colliding. A half-starved teenage boy arrives at her shop looking for work, only to reveal that he’s a newly Changed werewolf – on the run and desperately trying to control his animal instincts. Mercy asks her neighbor Adam Hauptman, the Alpha of the local werewolf pack, for assistance.

But Mercy’s act of kindness has unexpected consequences that leave her no choice but to seek help from those she once considered family – the werewolves who abandoned her…


I can’t remember when I first read this book but, it was 2012 or earlier.

I love this book just as much now as I did then and I can’t wait to start the next book. Since I’m actually not feeling too well I might just give into this impulse and start the next one.

There are times when reading a book you know is damn good is easier and more fun to do.

Mercy is absolutely amazing. I really want to mention that. She is a badass but, she isn’t perfect. She isn’t this undefeatable force. She’s just this woman who knows how to shoot a gun and use martial arts. She does her best to protect those she loves or feels the need to protect but, sometimes it doesn’t work out exactly how she would want.
Because of this, I feel she is relate-able.

These books are a comfort to read and quite easy.

I’ve mentioned this before but, I like how the supernatural aspect is pretty different. Werewolves have these rules that not many other books have AND there is Mercy who is a walker. Can’t wait to learn once again what she can do!!

Definitely think everyone (adults who like fantasy) should give Mercy a try 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

