Posted in Book review

Review: It’s All Fun & Games

It’s All Fun and Games by Dave Barrett

Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, LARP, Young Adult

★★★★☆
*I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for a honest review*

What a fun little read.

Synopsis from Goodreads: 

When Allison’s best friend, TJ, convinces her to come along for an epic game of LARP (live-action role-playing), she reluctantly agrees despite her reservations about the geeky pastime. TJ’s weekends are filled with powerful wizardry, mystical creatures, and intense battles with his LARP group. Each adventure is full of surprises, but the goal is always the same: to defeat the monsters and find the treasure.

Not long after their quest begins, the friends discover that something has gone wrong. The fantasy world they’ve built has transformed, and the battle they’re in the midst of is no longer make-believe.
Now they must fight for survival against brigands, kobolds, and other deadly mythical creatures that come to life. Fortunately, the group’s once-fictional magical powers have also become real – including Allison’s newly acquired gifts as a healer. They’ll need everything in their arsenal if they hope to make it home alive.


The book went by quite quickly and was entertaining the entire way. I will say I wasn’t expecting this to be a series so I was confused as to why things weren’t progressing faster but, now that I know it makes sense. Everything fits into place.

The characters are all pretty cool and have their own classic fantasy roles. I will admit shock over events once they crossed into the new world.

Heads up, no romance. There are mentions at crushes but, just in case you need/want to know. I don’t think the lack of a romantic plot (at least at this point) diminishes the story. In fact I think it makes it better! No need to spend time on that when the gang is getting situated into their roles.

I’m not sure if I’ll read more but, I do want to know what will happen to these kids and if they will ever make it home. I do have high hopes and questions for what is to come. For example. will Allie’s healer character develop, or will they gain more skills?

My one complaint is that I thought at times things dragged. The pacing was usually quite good but when the group… splits up I thought things slowed drastically.
Besides that, I think this is a great book!

Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: It’s All Fun & Games

  1. Sounds like great fun! I’m always curious when it comes to gaming/geek stories, as there are so few nowadays. I think the lack of romance could change later in the series, too… It usually does.
    Anyway, great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

