Posted in Musing Mondays

Musing Mondays 7/11/16

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Books and A Beat that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated (in your opinion).

I’m currently reading Tortall and Other Lands by Tamora Pierce. I played too much PokeGo yesterday so, I didn’t have time to finish it. Up next I’ll read The Young Elite by Marie Lu.

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated

hmmmm

Really? A lot of them have been. I’m picky about books being turned into movies and I just want everything in them. I think many of the Harry Potter books were not so great as movies. Just as movies, pretty good and beautiful to look at but, when compared to the books with all their detail and the little nuances… yeah, no comparison.


Are there any movie adaptions you hated? More importantly, are there any you liked?

7 thoughts on “Musing Mondays 7/11/16

  1. I couldn’t think of any movies to fit that description…as I usually love the movies, sometimes more than the books! I know, anathema! But I love visual images, and don’t expect the movies to be exactly like the books. That helps.

    Enjoy your books…I haven’t read Marie Lu. Here is my MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

  2. In general I have trouble with movie version of Jane Eyre. There have been a lot of them, and since it’s one of my all time favorites I can’t help the compulsion to pick the movie version to pieces. I think the one that’s come closest to what I think it should be is most recent one with Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender. I’m inordinately hard on Jane Eyre movies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. With the books I love, I want them to be made into movies because I want to see it come to life but, at the same time I don’t want them to be movies because i’d nit-pick at everything.
      I haven’t even seen One For The Money based off the Janet Evanovich book. I’m afraid it would ruin the book for me haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The problem with movie versions is they have to compete with the version created in my mind where I have an unlimited special effects budget.

    And short of making every movie six hours long, there wasn’t any way to really do the HP movies as well as the books on the silver screen. That said, I feel like they were pretty good overall.

    Like

    1. Yes! I thought they did a good job it just couldn’t meet up to what was in my head and how detailed the books were.
      So really, movies may never match up enough for me.
      But, do you think a tv show version of Harry Potter would be better? Each book with its own series?
      I think it would be enough time but, I think the other factors involved would still keep it from perfection.

      Like

Leave a Reply

