Posted in Book review

Review: The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Historical, Romance, Magical Realism

★★★★☆

Wow

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

The black sign, painted in white letters that hangs upon the gates, reads:
Opens at Nightfall
Closes at Dawn

As the sun disappears beyond the horizon, all over the tents small lights begin to flicker, as though the entirety of the circus is covered in particularly bright fireflies. When the tents are all aglow, sparkling against the night sky, the sign appears.

Le Cirque des Rêves
The Circus of Dreams.
Now the circus is open.
Now you may enter.


So, THAT ^ is the synopsis I got. I didn’t realize it was about a challenge two people were forced to play  against each other using their different types of magic. There was just so much going on.

I wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I ended up liking. So, magical. This book really brings you into another world, one I particularly wouldn’t want to leave.

This is a fantasy novel with magic in use but, I think even people who don’t particularly like fantasy might enjoy this because it isn’t the what the magic is or how it is used that is important (expect for the challenge) but, it is what the magic does. Important or focused on. Even the way the book was written seemed magical in the way it flowed off the pages and into my mind.

The characters are lovely. Although I wasn’t particularly attached to any besides Celia… probably just me. I loved them all, especially the twins and Bailey, but I was more addicted to what was going on within the story.

Now, I probably missed quite a lot because I still have questions, more spoiler type questions so, I’ll keep them to myself but, this is a book I’m sure I’ll keep with me.

Recommend? Yes. Such a great book needs to be read.

Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Review: The Night Circus

Leave a Reply

