Posted in Book review

Review: All the Missing Girls

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Genres/Themes: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Crime, Murder/Death,
Mentions of Mental Illness & Abuse

★★★★★
*I received this book through netgalley in exchange for a honest review*

Let me just say this in case you decide not to read my whole review: read this book.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without a trace. Back again to tie up loose ends and care for her ailing father, Nic is soon plunged into a shocking drama that reawakens Corinne’s case and breaks open old wounds long since stitched.

The decade-old investigation focused on Nic, her brother Daniel, boyfriend Tyler, and Corinne’s boyfriend Jackson. Since then, only Nic has left Cooley Ridge. Daniel and his wife, Laura, are expecting a baby; Jackson works at the town bar; and Tyler is dating Annaleise Carter, Nic’s younger neighbor and the group’s alibi the night Corinne disappeared. Then, within days of Nic’s return, Annaleise goes missing.

Told backwards—Day 15 to Day 1—from the time Annaleise goes missing, Nic works to unravel the truth about her younger neighbor’s disappearance, revealing shocking truths about her friends, her family, and what really happened to Corinne that night ten years ago.


Now, originally I was hesitant to read this book because it claims to be like The Girl on the Train which to me sounded like a bad thing since I didn’t like that book so much.
So, I went in not sure what to expect but then, I was hooked.

This was significant;y helped because this book tells you the premise and then goes backwards, day by day. After seeing how things would be, of course I was hooked! I had to know how the story would arrive at that point.

For people like me, this might be difficult. It was so intense that my eyes skipped quickly over pages trying to get to the mystery ASAP. I. Had. To. Know.
There was a lot of calming breathing going on as I tried to slow myself down.
Also, as a scaredy-cat after reading “someone’s in my house” a couple times while reading at night and being to hyped to sleep easily well, sleep was even harder.

My one complaint is that I thought reading backwards we missed things or didn’t pay attention to things as well. I kept wondering why she thought someone was in her house but, couldn’t find anything to create such paranoia.

Also, I wasn’t too keen on the characters…. no, I liked them. It just took me until about the end to realize because we worked backwards. It was hard to see the motivations for actions until previous chapters. So, this complaint is more of a me thing. I don’t think this would bother people too much.

Seriously loved the book.
The mystery was great and I really didn’t see it coming!

Recommend?? YES!!

7 thoughts on “Review: All the Missing Girls

Leave a Reply

