Posted in Book review

Review: The Sleeping Prince

The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter #2) by Melinda Salisbury

Genres/Themes: New/Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

★★★★★!!!

*I received this book in a goodreads giveaway in exchange for an honest review*

no nono no NO!! How can we end right here?!!?!

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Ever since her brother Lief disappeared, Errin’s life has gone from bad to worse. Not only must she care for her sick mother, she has to scrape together rent money by selling illegal herbal cures. But none of that compares to the threat of the vengeful Sleeping Prince whom the Queen just awoke from his enchanted sleep.

When her village is evacuated as part of the war against the Sleeping Prince, Errin is left desperate and homeless. The only person she can turn to is the mysterious Silas, a young man who buys deadly poisons from Errin, but won’t reveal why he needs them. Silas promises to help her, but when he vanishes, Errin must journey across a kingdom on the brink of war to seek another way to save her mother and herself. But what she finds shatters everything she believed about her world, and with the Sleeping Prince drawing nearer, Errin must make a heartbreaking choice that could affect the whole kingdom.


Everything I thought I knew from the first book has been changed. My complaints about no more Twylla and Lief?? WRONG. My #TeamLief ?!?! so… so wrong…

ALL MY SHIPS ARE IN CHAOS!

Damn, what do I say about this book and how to say it without giving away any more spoilers?

Characters:
-Errin: I will say I wasn’t sure how I felt about her at first, mostly because I wanted more Twylla. This girl is so amazing. She is dedicated and hardworking. She lives for her family and tries her hardest. She’s going through hell and could live easier without her mother but, she still sticks by her.
-Silas: Wow… mysterious at first with secrets revealed later. He is… of noble heart and strong. I loved him from the first meeting and my feelings just continued to grow. save me from the pain…
-Sleeping Prince?!? I was hoping to love this guy but, oh no. War and death. He is horrid but, I can’t help but like his character.
-Past Characters??? HELP ME! I can’t say much they do come back. There is more to know. More to feel about.

This book flowed. I never wanted to put it down.

2 tiny complaints though and they might be fixed because I was reading an ARC. There was times in the beginning of the book where the tense would change and it confused me.
The time changes sometimes threw me off — again mostly in the beginning because the reader is being told about Errin’s past. Or, the author wants a good ending then in the next chapter goes back and gives more info.
Weird…. it was weird but, didn’t stop me from enjoying the book.

My biggest complaint?
I don’t know when the next book is coming out and I. Am. So. Raw.
Seriously, I need the next book ASAP. What a cliffhanger….

I didn’t see anything coming. I’m completely caught off guard by everything…mostly; like all the important parts at least. I even doubt what I think will happen to the point I give in to the doubt THEN I’m proven wrong! I shouldn’t have doubted! Well…. entirely….

Please PLEASE someone read this and come talk to me. I’m in such pain.
So, do I recommend this ? Yes, completely.
This series is so under-hyped right now.

Goodreads

One thought on “Review: The Sleeping Prince

Leave a Reply

