Posted in Book review

Review: Dark Touch

Dark Touch by Aimee L. Salter

Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Young Adult, High School, Abuse, Tear-Jerker

*I received this book through netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review*

★★★★★

I’m not sure what to say about this book. I’m so full of emotions that I can’t think of the book without thinking of the story but, I’m going to try.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Tully isn’t alone in her skin. Whenever she touches someone, they feel everything she feels. All her ugliness. All her darkness. All her pain.
The only thing she wants is to be left alone—and to finally get out of her small Oregon town.

But then she meets Chris. He’s everything she’s not. Light. Trusting. Innocent. And he wants Tully.
Tully knows she should spare him the heartache of being with her. But when he touches her, she’s not sure she’ll have the strength to push him away…


I started this book thinking it would be more fantasy-oriented… it isn’t. The fact that she shares her emotions when touching another person, isn’t a huge part of the book. It is something and important but, don’t go into this book hoping for a fantasy/paranormal read. It just has that one element.

I like all the characters. Everyone had their role and did what they were supposed to. There is character growth, even if it does happen quite suddenly. In this story though, I think it had to happen that way.
For the romance part, I did think it started too fast and out of nowhere but, it is Young Adult and that is just how love can be at that age. They aren’t the perfect couple but, they make each other happy. It feels so good. It is good and sweet, not completely realistic. I wanted it to be though.

This book…
This is a hard book to get through a times because of content. The way it is written makes the book zip by in a flash. There is physical abuse, mentions of prior rape, almost rape, and drug use. It isn’t pretty.
There are so many times when the tears welled up so badly I couldn’t read the book anymore. Once, I even had to wipe the tears away because, you just FEEL for the characters. I was really brought to connect and care for the characters.

It is a good book. I’m emotionally drained now… but, I would recommend it.

Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Dark Touch

Leave a Reply

