Posted in Book review

Review: Escape From Witchwood Hollow

Escape From Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth

Genres/Themes: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery, Witches, 9/11

 

*I was given this book free by the author’s street team in exchange for an honest review*

★★★★☆ 4/5 stars
This is an amazing book. I wasn’t sure what to expect going in but, one I started I didn’t want to stop.

Brief Synopsis:

This book is about Honoria whose parents’ died in 9/11.
This book is about Albertine who is waiting for news from her Father in America which takes awhile in 1850.
This book is about Lady Elizabeth Clifford who poisoned a bad woman and is now being chased while being called a witch, a crime that will have her burn in the 1600s.

Witchwood Hollow backs up to the town Arinn which has attracted all three women (teenagers?) for different reasons. Once they reach the wood, their lives will change forever. And by forever, it really might be forever. There is a legend with Witchwood Hollow that once you go in, the witch won’t ever let you go.


At first, I wasn’t sure about three different time periods being different perspective.  After a few chapters, I loved the different time periods and just was so enthralled. I needed to know! I had an idea how it would all work to connect… I was wrong.

Guessing incorrectly about what was to come was a reoccurring theme for me. I really had no idea what would happen– SO refreshing. Although, also jaw-dropping in some areas.

I really connected to the characters, being able to feel for them, and I just wanted them all to be happy.

There were a few parts I didn’t understand too much or wasn’t too happy with.
-I wish the book would have more positive female relationships– especially for Honoria. At least Albertine has positive relationships.
-Spoiler I don’t understand why Albertine was kept being told to go home/go away before it was too late. I didn’t think there was any chance for her to leave… if a person had a certain mindset could they leave? I didn’t think so…. 
-I liked the ending but, at the same time… I have a hard time with it. I’m worried about what message people might take from it.

Overall, great book. Would I recommend it to people? Yes, most definitely. It was a great story.

One thought on “Review: Escape From Witchwood Hollow

Leave a Reply

