Posted in Book review

Review: Scooby Apocalypse #1

Scooby Apocalypse #1 from DC Entertainment
Genres/Themes: Comic book, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Intro, Humor

★★★★★ Can I give more stars?!?

*I received this comic from netgalley in exchange for an honest and fair review*

Okay, I put in my request for this and I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to get approved for something so badly. I practically squealed when I was able to download it and, I was NOT disappointed.

What’s the story?

So, in this time the gang doesn’t know each other. In this issue they do meet. Daphne is a TV show host/reporter with cameraman Fred (who is SO in love with her! yesss). Velma is a scientist who calls them to get her story out in hopes to save the world. Shaggy is a dog-trainer in the same facility as Velma working with special dogs they are experimenting on, one of the first being, Scooby Doo. Through a series of events they meet and the world as they know it won’t ever be the same.


How much did I like this issue?
–I’m craving for the next one already.

Oh. My. God.

Okay, to start, this was a tiny trip down memory lane. I watched Scooby Doo growing up and have seen the silly live action movies. Heck, I even got that Gamecube game for Christmas one year. Scooby Doo will always hold a place in my heart. I’ve never read a Scooby Doo comic and this was a good one to start on.

This is completely different story from before and truly the beginning of a new series.

The characters were great and made me think of my childhood but, they also have these other traits which really bring them to life and making them almost new characters.

The artwork is just… WOW. It is so colorful. I loved the art style.

The sci-fi components were really cool too! They actually give explanation for Scooby Doo being able to understand humans and somewhat communicate.

Who do I recommend this too?
EVERYONE! Seriously, I don’t know who wouldn’t like this especially if you grew up around Scooby Doo AND people who like Fantasy/Sci-fi.

Excuse me while I groan in frustration about waiting for the next issue to come out.

Goodreads

Will you read this comic?
Did you like Scooby Doo as a kid? Still like the Scooby Doo gang??

Let’s talk Scooby Doo!

Leave a Reply

