Posted in T5W

Top 5 Wednesday – Summer Reads!

Top 5 Wednesday transparent

Hello, Hello!! Being new to blogging I’m trying to figure out what to do and what to make of this thing I’ve creating. I found the site above and thought a Top 5 Wednesday sounded fun!

So, the topic is summer reads which can include beach reads, fun reads, or any book you associate with summer for whatever reason! Can you feel the heat?! It is already hitting 90 some days where I am!! Personally, light, fun reads — not very complicated– are what make me think of a summer read. Thinking in the summer is just too much to ask ^_^

Following list not in any particular order!

6853
1. Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich

With these books people either love’em or hate’em. Me? I love them.
Stephanie Plum is hilarious and the stupidity… it is funny and the kind of humor I can’t help but laugh at. These books don’t have many serious scenes.
The lightness and ease of reading make this series perfect for summer reading.

8788554
2. Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones

When it is hot, I like to take my mind off the heat. One way to do that, is to laugh.
Charley is hilarious and sarcastic. I adore this series. Grim Reapers and Ghosts?
Bring it on.
There are definitely serious parts in this book but, I think the humor and the ease of reading make up for it.

25079102

3. Poppy Peters series by A. Gardner

Currently, I’ve only read the first book but, I definitely want to read more.
This is a cozy mystery that happens in a culinary school in Georgia.
It is Summer time and it is hot. So, why not read it when you’re already hot? Perhaps the heat you feel will help connect you to the main characters.
Simple, easy read with a little thinking. Only downside: you’ll be hungry

7012994
4. Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

A sweet high school romance with lots of crazy memorable characters.
I laughed, I almost cried, and I cheered for the characters.
What better way to take your mind off the heat?

6555
5. The Blackstone Chronicles by John Saul

I know, I said summer reads are light and fun but… I spent a year abroad in Japan
and I’m gonna have a B.A. in Japanese really soon.
In Japan when it is summer time they put out haunted houses and try to scare people. When you are scared you actually cool down. I can’t remember the science behind it.
BUT, I had to put a horror book on the list.
When I was younger, this was the book that made me stop reading horror.
I might have to re-read it this summer and see how I fare now ^_^


Thanks for reading this far!! What do you think of my list? What would you add? Or put a link to your own post in the comments and I’ll check it out!!

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Summer Reads!

    1. I’ll have to check out your post!
      I have a few books to read for games/challenges on Goodreads I really need to get to…. right now I’m reading Ready Player One and listening to Wicked Business. I’m slowly making my way into Summer Reading -type books.

      Like

Leave a Reply

