Posted in Book review

Review:Kitty and The Midnight Hour

14461Kitty and The Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn
Narrator: Marguerite Gavin
Genres/Themes: Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Werewolves, Shifters, Vampires, Supernatural, Radio show, Self-confidence
*There are scenes graphically depicting deaths*

★★★★☆ 4/5 stars

I wasn’t sure if this was a book I would like… even though it was my second time through. Sometimes my taste just really changes. Also, this time I devoured the book as an audiobook.

Brief Summary:
Kitty Norville is a late night radio show host on KNOB doing random topic segments while playing pre-80s music. She also is semi-newly turned (against her will) werewolf. Kitty honestly has some of the worst luck. Then, one night she decided to talk about Bat Boy and the conversation turns to the Supernatural and being a highly rated show. Her boss grants her her own show about the supernatural. Her pack Alphas and the Vampire family Leader don’t like this.
Kitty, the lowest ranking Werewolf of her pack must decide whether she is going to stay submissive and given protection, or if she will fight to live the way she wants to live.


Kitty is great and I love reading her life.You see her struggles and how she tries to get through them. She definitely has character development and I’m excited to see how far she will go.
//giphy.com/embed/sFXInhVnwDgNWvia GIPHY

 I’m sad about some events 😦 and I hope there will become permanent cast members besides Kitty and not just Matt or Ozzie who are really just background characters.

I don’t like how the Alpha acts in this book… there isn’t the mating for life thing which I’m okay with because not every shifter book IN THE WORLD has to have mating for life, but this Alpha just takes advantage… taking what you want from pack members BECAUSE you’re Alpha… it really left a bad taste in my mouth.
//giphy.com/embed/26FxBZioCB69lQR2wvia GIPHY

I hope we get to see more Alphas later… I hope they are nicer or prove that her pack was just unbalanced.

The radio host aspect is really awesome and I enjoyed it.
Also, I Love LOVE LOVED how there was a lot of stuff mentioned in the book that wasn’t taken care of but mentioned at the end that she still had to take care of. Not a huge cliffhanger but, something to keep the readers interested in the next books and having a flow of conflict. Not just a new bad guy or thing each book (not that there is anything wrong with that but, I do like also having an overarching problem/issue as well)

As for it being an audiobook, the narrator’s voice took some getting used to but, sometimes that happens with new books. Kitty’s voice made her sound mature and so done with everyone’s shit. I loved it. It really fit her personality.

Why a 4/5* then??? It had great writing and a really interesting story. I can feel the need to give it 5 but something is holding me back and I can’t really put my finger on it. For sure, the Werewolf and Vampire power structure was a huge turn off. Even though I know that is the point of making the system that way, I am just having a hard time with it. This is a book where I think I need to read the sequel to see if I liked the first book more because more information will be found in the second book sometimes.

So, yeah. Hopefully I’ll finally get to the sequel this time.

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

